Governor Otu Announces Fresh Edo APC Governorship Direct Primary Election

The Governor of Cross River State, Senator Bassey Otu, serving as the chairman of the Edo State All Progressives Congress (APC), governorship direct primary election, has announced plans for a new shadow poll to take place across the state’s 192 wards spanning the 18 local government areas.

Otu, speaking briefly to reporters at Lushville Hotel and Suites on Gapiona Avenue in the Government Reservation Area (GRA) of Benin, disclosed that the controversial primary election held last Saturday has been officially canceled.

Osun Defender recalls that the leadership of the APC had appointed Bassey Otu as the chairman of its governorship primary election committee in Edo state.

The party declared the initial primary election inconclusive after some governorship aspirants were declared winners of the exercise.

Hope Uzodinma, governor of Imo and chairman of the panel when the primary was held on Saturday, had declared Dennis Idahosa, a member of the house of representatives, winner of the exercise.

However, Ojo Babatunde, spokesperson of the returning officers, said Sunday Dekeri, a lawmaker representing Etsako federal constituency in the house of representatives, polled 25,384 votes to defeat Idahosa.

In another twist of events, Monday Okpebholo, senator representing Edo central and a governorship aspirant, claimed that he won the election with over 6,000 votes.

In a notice on Wednesday, Suleiman Argungu, APC national organising secretary, said Rabiu Suleiman would serve as the secretary of the primary election committee.

Shettima Shehu, Titilayo Laoye-Tomori, Nentanwe Yilwatde Goshwe, Umar Hassan, and Lawan Garba will serve as members of the committee.

Argungu named C. C Udenwa as chair of the appeals committee.

Muhammad Sarina, Udogu Anthony Chijoke, Muhammad Ali, and Yunusa Mohammed will serve as members of the appeals committee.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button