Anambra Rerun: YPP Reclaims Federal Constituency Seat

The candidate of the Young Progressives Party, Chinwe Nnabuife, has been declared by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, as the winner of the rerun election for Orumba North and Orumba South Federal Constituency in Anambra.

While speaking, INEC’s Returning Officer for Orumba North and Orumba South Federal Constituency, Prof. Gabriel Anene, declared Nnabuife the winner, having polled the highest number of votes.

The declaration was made on Saturday night at about 10:15 pm after the collation of the results from the 16 polling units in Nanka ward 1.

Anene said that Nnabuife scored 14,416, while the closest candidate, Okwudili Ezenwankwo of PDP, scored 13,087.

He said Kanayo Eze of the APGA scored 10,479 votes.

While reacting on his victory, Nnabuife expressed that the victory was a call for more transformative legislative business in the constituency.
Nnabuife commended INEC for its transparency.

She assured the constituents of quality representation and urged other candidates to see the Orumba North/South constituency above their personal interests.

The YPP agent, Mr Calistus Nwosu, said the outcome of the rerun election was a testament to the will of the electorate.

Nwosu enjoined the representative to discharge her duties without bias while ensuring that the constituency was effectively represented.

The rerun election was scheduled by INEC after a court of competent jurisdiction ordered a rerun to determine the actual winner of the election.

Ezenwankwo had challenged INEC’s declaration of Nnabuife as the winner of the February 25, 2023, National Assembly election to represent the Orumba North and Orumba South Federal Constituency.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button